New Purse Pattern

Last summer I purchased a purse pattern and cut out the pieces for it.  But there were so many pieces, it seemed too complicated for me to make.  So I set it aside.  After we moved, I put the bag on top of my sewing table where its sat for almost five months.

Yesterday I decided it was time to give it a go.  I didn’t get very far  yesterday; I was able to make the pleats and pin the pockets into place.

I realized that the pattern is much easier if you take it one step at a time.  So my next few posts will focus on this purse pattern.  I will take pictures as I go along to show the progress I made.  It really won’t be  a tutorial, but you might take away a few tips for your future projects.

Because this is a test pattern for me (I always test a new pattern before making it for someone else) there will be bumps along the way.   I also decided not to waste my precious interfacing.  It won’t be as stable, but it will give me a good idea of whether or not I attempt to make it again.

I’m excited to let you in on this journey.  Really, this purse has been lurking in the shadows.  I was intimidated.  Until yesterday.  So I’m excited to begin this next challenge.

I hope you’ll join me for my next post where I’ll add pictures and update the status of this purse.  It will take a week  or two to finish because I have other projects to work on.  But it WILL get done!

What are you making this week?  Join me on Wednesday as I update the status on this new purse!

Leave a Reply

