Homemade Freezer Paper

Freezer Paper.  Wax Paper.  Are they the same?  No, not really.  Wax paper has a waxy coating on both sides of the paper.  Freezer paper has a shiny/waxy side and a paper side.

I want to create my own tags for my handmade items and I began my search the other day.  I found a tutorial  on YouTube on how do to this.  (It really works, by the way!).  In the tutorial, freezer paper was used.  I don’t have any on hand and didn’t want to run to the store.  I needed to make two labels for some rice bags I made for someone.

So I set out to find out if you could make your own.  And I found out the hard way that wax paper is not the same as freezer paper.  It just doesn’t iron onto anything.  I found a way to make my own using items I already have on hand:  computer paper (I’m sure almost any paper would work, but I used it because it was handy) and a plastic trash bag (unused, of course!).  I used a white trash bag.  The tutorial I found said to use a black one.  It worked well with the white bag though.

If you want to make your own freezer paper, I’ll show you how!

Supplies Needed:

 

  • Plastic Trash Bag (Again, I used a White one)
  • Paper
  • Iron and Ironing Board
  • Press Cloth (I use a scrap piece of fabric)

002 003

First, cut your plastic bag to fit your piece of paper.  I used a sheet of 8 1/2 x 11.  I cut the bag slightly smaller than my piece of paper.

Next, place your press cloth on the ironing board and put the piece of plastic down (first picture).  Make sure to smooth out the wrinkles as best as you can.  Then, place your piece of paper on top of it; I made sure the plastic was centered on top of the plastic bag piece (second picture).

004 005

Cover the piece of paper with the press cloth to protect the paper from burning.

006

With your dry iron set at about medium heat (I think I set mine to 5), begin to iron.  I start from the center of the piece of paper and work out, although I don’t know that you have to do it that way.

008

Iron until the plastic is melted onto the paper.

010

You can check periodically and see if it’s all adhered to the paper.  If it’s not, just cover it back up and iron down that part.

014

Voila!  You’re done!  Wasn’t that easy?  I’m on a mission (along with many other things this week) to make a lot of this paper.  It will come in handy for making those fabric labels and for transferring patterns to the freezer paper so I can iron them into place on my fabric (no pinning required!).

Do you use freezer paper?  Let me know if you give this a try!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

