Up-cycled Toddler Dress

A cute picture of a little girl’s dress made from an up-cycled men’s dress shirt was floating around Facebook a few weeks ago.  Someone at church asked if I could make it for her daughter.

So I bought a few dress shirts on sale at a local thrift store and began to sew away.  The first dress looked like a pillow case dress-not the look I was going for.  But it was cute.  The second dress looked better-I used a pattern I have but made it too small.  The third dress came out much better.  I intend to have my daughter wear the third dress so I’ll make some slight alterations to it.

After trying the three practice dresses, I was ready to cut into the shirt I was given.   I asked the girl’s mom if she had a dress that fit her daughter well.  She had one and was nice enough to let me take it home to make the pattern.  Using the dress as a guide, I cut out a pretty cute dress from the shirt.  The dress isn’t finished yet.  I still have to create the elastic casing around the neckline and the arms.  I hope to finish this dress today.  I promise to post a picture of the finished dress.

What are you working on today?

003

Leave a Reply

